Exam Treats

I started a quirky tradition during exam time about three years back. At first, I didn’t do it for me, because I have never had exams in college or university before this term. It was more about cheering up my boyfriend.

The tradition involves a lot of baking – comfort foods and desserts, mainly. I’ve made cookies, brownies, soft pretzels, cupcakes, home-made ice cream: pleasant stuff. Because of all my free time, I had time to bake; for me, it was a celebration of finishing the semester, but for my boyfriend, it was the best way to make sure he actually ate during his intense study sessions.

This year, I made a nice batch of peanut butter brownies, and I’d thought I would share the recipe with you. I inspired it from Chocolate Covered Katie’s recipe; if you’d like the original, follow this link:  http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2013/02/27/copycat-little-debbie-cosmic-chocolate-fudge-brownies/

Whether you are studying, working on your next big project, or just relaxing at home, these are a great treat.

Yummy Peanut Butter Bite-Sized Brownies

1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons cocoa butter

1 cup whole-wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons hazelnut-flavoured instant coffee granules

1 cup white sugar

Pinch of salt

6 Tbsp peanut butter

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup olive oil

2 tsp milk

Preheat oven to 325 degree and mix your dry ingredients together. Add wet and stir until mixture is smooth. Optional: add 3 extra tablespoons of peanut butter and swirl it into the mix without incorporating it completely for delicious peanut butter bites throughout your brownies! Pour in two small round pans and bake for about 20 minutes. Allow the brownies to cool, then cut them to bite size pieces OR keep the round sections intact, spread peanut butter on top of the first, and add the second on top for a layered brownie cake.

My boyfriend and I found a creative and delicious way to eat these brownies. Paired with ice cream, they are even better! I bought some cookie-dough ice cream before making these: now, I combine two large spoonfuls of ice cream and 3-4 bite-sized brownies and smush it together with a spoon. Delish. You can’t go any better than that.Image

 

 

On another note… I just finished the first draft of Demons Below Us today!

It should take me the summer to edit, re-write, and get some opinions on the first draft. I am so excited to share the first book of the Shark Academy series with everyone!

 

 

Leave a Reply

