So I Received my Book… And Green Smoothie Time?

Today I came home from school with a box on my table.

As soon as I saw its size, I knew what it was.

Image

 

 

Oh, I don’t look happy at all!

It’s difficult to explain how that moment felt. For the first time, I see my words in published print form. Just for that, all the hard work was worth it.

On another note… I have recently purchased a used Vitamix machine, and have been experimenting with green smoothies since then. The great thing about the Vitamix is that it really liquefies anything if you blend it for long enough. The trick to make a green smoothie taste good is to have a proper fruit to vegetable ratio. If you don’t like vegetables, don’t expect a green smoothie to taste good with just vegetables. That is why you cannot have a yummy green smoothie that is very low in calories.

For example, my favourite recipe has about 250-300 calories, depending on how much fruit I put in on different days. This smoothie is good for those who dislike the bitter taste of vegetables, because I have chosen very sweet fruits that create a good camouflage. I call this my “6-a-day” green smoothie, because it has the recommended 3 portions of vegetables and 3 portions of fruit. I eat this with my breakfast every single day (except Saturdays), and it makes me feel great and well-nourished.

A word of warning: At first, starting to drink green smoothies may be nasty. Give yourself a good 2 weeks to get used to it. I certainly did, and I am so glad I gave it a try.

 

6-a-Day Green Smoothie

1 cup strawberries

1 peach, ripe

1 cup chopped pineapple

1 large handful of spinach

2-3 large leaves of romaine lettuce

1/3 to 1/2 of a cucumber

First, make sure your ingredients are cleaned. If you don’t have a Vitamix or other high-speed blender, cut all of your ingredients into smaller pieces. Place fruits and veggies in your blender and add 2 cups of cold water. Blend until desired texture is achieved, and pour into a pretty glass. Drink some in the morning, and store some in a cup to bring with you for a snack.

As I mentionned before, if you are a beginner green smoothie drinker, it might seem difficult to get used to the taste. If this is too big of a problem, begin by cutting down on the amount of vegetables in the smoothie. Slowly add more until you become more used to it.

Leave a Reply

